it is sometimes a bad day to ride


It’s Never Sometimes A Bad Day to Ride: But Not Yesterday!

cycling socks that say it's never a bad time to ride

Lies!

It’s been about a month since I was last on my bike. And I missed her. I missed her dearly.

And I’ll admit it–I’ve been a little bit grumpy about it. I admire those who follow the spirit of my lovely cycling socks, those that believe it’s never a bad time to ride (Check out blogger All Seasons Cyclist!). But unfortunately, I am not one of those people. The instant my nose gets cold, I’m done. And basically, because I  live in Michigan, that means I usually don’t ride from mid-September to mid-May.

But suddenly! In my part of “the mitten,” something beautiful happened!  The clouds cleared. The sun shined. The birds sang. And the rain even stopped. In other words…the stars aligned  the universe sent me a message.

stars in the universe aligning

Ride, Ashley, RIDE! (source)

I wasted no time–as soon as I got home from work, I hauled my ass onto that saddle and hit the road.

man jumping by water

FREEDOM! (source)

Oh, yes, J was with me, too. I didn’t leave him behind. It was a beautiful 15 miles of fresh air, sun, wind, and freedom. I didn’t think about work or school or money. I just thought about me and Mildred. Working together to roll through Town. I was so high on cycling that I didn’t even get (too) angry at the irritating pedestrians blocking the path (but seriously–why is it so hard to just stay to the right while walking?) I just let all those angry emotions roll over me. Nothing would ruin this moment for me. I would savor it.

And so I did. I brought my camera to take some nifty picture to post on here, but I couldn’t stop pedaling. All that’s left is my short post and my lingering smile.

 

 

Leave a Reply

