Being Mindful and Enjoying the Present


I tend to get wrapped up in my head, and it can be hard to just be. One reason I love cycling so much is that it forces me to be mindful of the present. I can’t get lost in all my thoughts because if I stop paying attention I could crash or do something stupid/dangerous.

But when I’m not cycling, it’s harder. It takes constant practice. I must remind myself that the present is all I really have. The past is gone, I can’t do anything about it. And the future is unknown.

So when I came across this poem, I felt really moved by it. It was exactly what I needed to help me remember that. I hope that others will enjoy it, too.

Always we hope
someone else has the answer,
some other place will be better,
some other time it will all turn out.

This is it.
No one else has the answer
no other place will be better,
and it has already turned out.

At the center of your being
you have the answer;
you know who you are
and you know what you want.

There is no need
to run outside
for better seeing.

Nor to peer from a window.

Rather, abide at the center of your being;
for the more you leave it, the less you learn.

Search your hear
and see
the way to do
is to be.

– Lao Tzu

*note* Personally, it was the most powerful when it was read aloud to me. 

7 responses to “Being Mindful and Enjoying the Present

  1. Very great post… I totally agree about cycling keeping me present. When I do drift off dreaming on the road bike I’m always like, what are you doing pay attention.
    On my mountain bike, the ground has a quick powerful way of slapping me back into he now… Making it easy to be present and not off in lala land.
    This post really got me thinking and I love this
    alison

    • Thanks so much! You’re always so full of positive energy in your comments, I love it! Yea, my mind definitely does wander sometimes. But, it very quickly has to go back to the current reality, so it’s at least in short bursts that I start going into lala land!

  2. A lovely reminder of why cycling and any other form of meditative activity requiring focus and attention ( climbing, walking and even gardening for me) are vital to bring you ‘back to yourself’ and keep your sanity! I’m also fairly new to cycling after being lured into it by my cycling obsessed dude. I’ve been looking for info and inspiration on cycling and fitness written by women for women; this fits the bill-witty and inspiring! Love it- keep it up! x

Leave a Reply

