Warning! This post may make you concerned for my mental health


Seriously. After reading this, I am pretty confident that you’ll think one of the following:

  • Those two are completely bonkersย 
  • I am completely jealous that they were able to do this and I can’t, in which case…does that mean I am bonkers as well?
  • I’m officially inspired & this is my next project. So then, I’m crazy like they are.

Reflection Time

How do you store your bike/s and bike gear?

Do you have a clean and organized designated space? ย Or is everything scattered about in organized (or not-so-organized chaos?)

How do you feel when you look upon your bike/s and bike gear? Stressed out? Content? Happy? At peace?

Well last week, my answer to these questions would have been: scattered about in disorganized chaos, which make me constantly stressed at full of rage. But now? Well…Let me show you, friend. Sit back and enjoy the show!

And please leave comments–what do you think? Any suggestions for improvement or additions? On a scale of 1-10, how crazy do you think we are?

The Unveiling

This first post is more of the basic changes–the new way of storing and organizing everything. My next post will be about all the little touches and art added to the room, just to make it a warm and fun place to be.

Entrance into the bike room

Entrance into the bike room

The 5th bike...no rack for him! And also, a place for the tools and little parts

The 5th bike…no rack for him! And also, a place for the tools and little parts

A place for our helmets. Held up using the Command plastic adhesive hooks (Highly recommended)

A place for our helmets. Held up using the Command plastic adhesive hooks (Highly recommended)

A view of the desk-bench area

A view of the desk-bench area

Under the desk-bench

Under the desk-bench; panniers, bike racks, other tools

Check out the Monkeysee High-Visibility Reflective Harnesses shining through! (Highly recommended, check out my review if you haven't already!)

Check out the Monkeysee High-Visibility Reflective Harnesses shining through! (Highly recommended, check out my review if you haven’t already!)

Ikea mesh file/paper drawers: used to lay out cycling gloves so they're easy to pick and choose which ones to wear!

Ikea mesh file/paper drawers: used to lay out cycling gloves so they’re easy to pick and choose which ones to wear!

Produce mesh bags, used to hold all winter cycling gear (in one), and old saddles (in the other)

Produce mesh bags, used to hold all winter cycling gear (in one), and old saddles (in the other). Monkeysee harnesses peeking through!

Ikea storage purchase (originally made for bathrooms). Used to hold cycling stuff, like lights, glasses, etc--easy to grab!

Ikea storage purchase (originally made for bathrooms). Used to hold cycling stuff, like lights, glasses, etc–easy to grab!

Bulletin boards, magnetic board, used to hold misc items

Bulletin boards, magnetic board, used to hold misc items

26 responses to “Warning! This post may make you concerned for my mental health

  1. Your bike area likes nice — I just hope you can keep the carpet clean. My beautiful, kind, sweet and loving wife gave up her half of our garage so I can store my bikes there — you wouldn’t believe what that cost me!

    • Thanks!! Yea, what we’ve done before is rip up paper grocery bags and leave them under the tires so we will probably continue doing that…

      Half the garage is not a bad deal!! Although I am now very curious what it cost you….

      • The cost for her half of the garage was a new car. There school were she works is just a mile away, so she only drives about 3,000 miles a year total! Also, I clean her car and the driveway before she leaves when it is snowing, and if it is snowing a lot I just take her to work. Not a bad deal at all.

  2. LOL! I keep my riding stuff in my car in a SUV tote storage.It includes: helmet, shoes, tire and shock pumps, first-aid kit, gloves, tubes, tools, and some other miscellaneous I cannot remember. I honestly do not have spare parts lying around my garage. I’m friends with the local bike shop manager; I’m able get parts as needed real quickly. I’m fortunate to have a friend who owns a house with a garage that has a loft, it’s loaded with bikes and parts.((Surveyor got it made.) I’m welcome to ride one of his bike if I break components on mine. In the future I hope to have an extra bike ready to ride in event I jacked up one of the bikes, I have another ready to ride while waiting on part(s). This only gives me storage for one bike. Of course if I ever meet the right spouse that share the same hobby, then I’ll be building a shed!!! Assuming I’m not living in an apartment or whatever.

    Backpacking gears is another story, I got craps on a custom built shelf. I keep my biking gears simple, evidently.

    • Haha, well at least you have a lot of options, that’s not so bad! And custom shelving? Now there’s an idea for our next bike room ๐Ÿ™‚ !! Thanks for commenting!!

  3. Half of my garage is full of bikes for me and the kids … my gear stays in the house in my walkin closet. When I think about it, I’d make an extra room a yoga room. The bikes can stay in the garage while my car sulks in the driveway. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Haha ๐Ÿ™‚ well a yoga room does sound nice too, I’ll give you that. If I had two rooms to build up, the other would be a yoga/meditation room for sure. Dream big, right?!

  4. Very cool! My bikes live in the garage, and my gear is in a tub. A good friend has repurposed his dining room as bike storage for his family’s bikes. Pretty sure that would never fly with my husband, who tends to resent the amount of space my two bikes take up. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Thanks!!! And we have definitely used a tub for storage before, so I get that! And bikes do take up a lot of room, it is true. I can see it being hard on the non-cyclist. Maybe there needs to be a secret operation commenced that somehow gets him into bikes so then the dining room idea is possible ๐Ÿ˜‰ hahah

  5. Nice tidy up – great for persisting, there is that point right, when it just seems too hard, but you succeeded. A messy space does my head in too! The challenge I have is that i also love art. So this takes up a large amount of wall space – no real option to use a bike rack. Like others I tend to also use my wagon as a bit of a holding bay since i have no garage. I do have a studio space but it’s 12kms away so not that easy to get to, there’s some gear there, some at home, I feel a bit split not having the one all encompassing space I have to say…

    • Yea it has a way of bogging me down. I can actually think so much clearer now that it’s clean! I’ve actually been doing some crafting, too–which I haven’t done in about 8 months. Amazing, really!

      Yea we have a lot of big paintings. Luckily they were already placed in other areas around the apartment so we didn’t have to deal much with that. I’m sure it’ll be a whole new challenge when we move–every place brings its own personality!

      Anyway, thanks for commenting!

  6. Okay. So I looked at this yesterday, and thought, “Yeah, that’s pretty nice. But my stuff is already well-organized.” Then I went home and spent some time on the trainer while looking around the basement, and came to realize I’m not at all organized and you did something pretty amazing. I especially like all the hanging solutions. Nice work!

    • Haha! Well, glad that my post got you thinking =) And thanks! I’ve always been a geek when it comes to organizing. I will do it for fun…so don’t feel bad that you aren’t organized!

  7. Tip for those short on space, bikes take up less room when stored vertically. Find the support beams within the ceiling or wall , screw in a big hook covered with plastic/rubber tube into the support and hang your bike by the wheel. If you alternate the bikes direction (ie one hung by the rear wheel, the next by the front) then you can pack a lot of bikes into a small space. You can fit a bike into that neglected space behind a door like this. If your “beams” are in the wrong place then get a stout timber and fix to the outside of the wall, into the supports across the area where you want to hang your bikes. You can then screw your hooks into this. I have friends who hang their bikes in the big space above their stairs, although it is a little unnerving climbing the stairs underneath them all!

    I hope this is clear, it is a little hard to describe with pictures.

    • The picture definitely helps. Is that your set up or was it found online?

      That is a fantastic tip, by the way–thanks!

      Unfortunately, as apartment dwellers we had to be conservative with how many holes we drill into the walls. We already had a terrible mishap with a large painting…but that’s a story for another day ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Yeah, apartments and bikes aren’t always the best of friends. Especially when you accidentally leave tyre marks and pedal gouges in the walls (whoops).

        No thats a picture I found online, ours is a 5m high wall of bikes requiring ladders and strong man to reach the stuff at the top. I can reach the bikes to get them down but not put them back, I suppose that’s the best way though ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I’d love to have a “bike room”. Currently my 5 bikes all hang on a T-shaped bike storage contraption out in our storage shed/workshop. The rig is from harbor Frieght Tools and works pretty well >> http://www.harborfreight.com/cycle-tree-compact-bike-storage-2628.html
    As for riding gear, I keep it all in a big duffle in my car. The theory there is that always having the gear in the car gives me one less thing to do to “get ready to ride”. I think that taking away all possible excuses to not ride ends up working well (for me).

    • Ooohhh that is NICE though! And Cheap! Ooh la la! Thanks for sharing, because knowing us…we’re going to have a lot more bikes and will need to think of new storage solutions!!!

Leave a Reply

